Committee Members

Dr. Amiya Sahu


He is president of National Solid Waste Association of India (NSWAI).

He is an environmental scientist having more than 50 years of experience in the environmental sector and, is one of the pioneers in the areas of Air pollution, Toxic and Hazardous waste management, industrial waste management, solid waste management and climate change.

He has been involved in Awareness and Educational activities in the above fields at various levels from schools to universities in India.

He is one of the expert members in various committees of Govt of India like CSIR, Niti Ayog. BIRAC, BIS , CPCB. He has also played a role in drafting the Rules and Guidance for Municipal Waste for India in 1996 .


Mr. Sandeep Patel

Vice President

He is co-founder & CEO at NEPRA.

Sandeep as an entrepreneur is building an ecosystem in Waste Management & Recycling for Transparency and Scale with his experience of over 9+ years experience in Waste Management in India.

After completing his Bachelor’s in Business Administration (BBA), he did his MBA in E-Commerce Strategy and Project Management from LEEDS Beckett University, UK.


Mr. Snehal Jariwala

General Secretary

He is Head - Environment at Adani Ports & SEZ

A seasoned professional in the field of environmental services, having plethora of experience imbibed while working with numerous national and international companies for over 14+ years.

Snehal holds a Post Diploma degree in Industrial Safety (P.D.I.S.) from Mahatma Gandhi Labour Institute, Ahmedabad and M. Sc. (Environmental Science) degree from Gujarat University.


Mr. Akhilesh Bhargava

Jt. General Secretary

He is Managing Director of AVI Global Plast Pvt. Ltd.

An environment and ocean lover, an entrepreneur, working towards Circular Economy, Plastic Pollution and reduction of Marine litter. With extensive experience in Plastic Waste Management, collection systems, plastic processing, packaging and plastic recycling. He is committed to reducing plastic wastes and minimizing its effect on our marine bodies and environment.

Akhilesh is an MBA from Mumbai University and an INSEAD alum.


Mr. Daryl Dsouza


He is co-founder & CEO at Samanvey Impact.

An assertive and result oriented professional with 18+ years of experience spread across diverse businesses in the Banking and finance industry. He is known for his achievements in new business start ups - vis-à-vis launching of businesses in newer geographies.

After completing his B. Com, he did his LLB from Gujarat university.


Ms. Sravanthi Rallabandi

Publications & Communications Head

She is co-founder & CEO at Imbyzmo Consulting Pvt. Ltd.

She is an Urban Planner with over 10 years of experience with keen interest in Municipal Solid Waste Management and climate change adaptation.

Sravanthi holds a Master of Arts degree from Birmingham City University, United Kingdom and a Bachelor of Planning degree from School of Planning and Architecture (now JNAFU), JNTU, Hyderabad.


Mr. Achitra Borgohain

Public Relations Head

He is founder & CEO of Binbag.

Achitra has 15 years of entrepreneurial and managerial experience in social sector and high-performance private enterprises. Has built a waste management company from one-person-idea to cross $150K in revenue in 3 years.

After completing his Bachelor’s in Engineering from Saurashtra University, he did his MBA from Gujarat University.


T. K. Bandopadhyay

Technical Director

He is is the Technical Director at International Centre for Plastics in the Environment (ICPE)

He has about 45 years of experience in the plastic industry and has been in Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Ltd, (IPCL) for more than two decades.

Mr. Bandopadhyay is a B. Tech. in Plastics and Rubber Technology from the Department of Applied Chemistry, Calcutta University (1971). Earlier, he did his B.Sc. from the same University (1967).


Dr. Lakshmi Raghupathy

National Coordinator

She is former advisor at Ministry of Environment

Dr. Lakshmi Raghupathy is a former advisor at Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India and is presently a Visiting Faculty in TERI School of Advanced Sciences (Formerly TERI University) teaching Solid Waste Management, Waste Utilization and Industrial Ecology.

She is involved in Guiding Research for Doctoral and Post Graduate students in TERI University and Amity University. She works as an Advisor & Consultant, in the areas of Environment and Waste Management for a number of organizations.

She is also a Resource person in the Swacch Bharat Mission Exposure Workshops


Ajay Pradhan

Chairman, NSWAI New Delhi Chapter

He is Director & CEO at Cetus Consulting Solutions Services Pvt. Ltd. (C2S2) , New Delhi

He has 30+ years of experience in the environment and planning sector. He is a PhD in Civil Engineering from Bhubaneshwar. Before that he pursued a masters degree in Environmental and Planning Management from Bangkok.


Nitin Deshpande

Chairman, NSWAI Maharashtra Chapter

He is Director at Trio-chem Sucrotech Engineering & Projects Pvt. Ltd. Pune

He is one of the leading individuals in the waste management sector in Maharashtra


S. Sampath

Chairman, NSWAI South India Chapter

He is the Director at Samki Group, Hyderabad.

Technical Advisory Committee